

Proceedings of the Statistical and Social Inquiry of Ireland

One Hundred and Sixty-Third Session: 2009/2010

First Meeting

The first meeting of the Society was held at 6:00pm on Thursday 15th October 2009 at the Royal Irish Academy. The President, Dr Donal de Buitleir, was in the Chair.

Dr Martina Lawless (Central Bank and Financial Services Authority of Ireland) delivered the 2009/10 Barrington Lecture, *Destinations of Irish Exports: A Gravity Model Approach*. Contributions from the floor were made by Dr Patrick Quill, Dr Seán Lyons, Dr Kieran McQuinn and Professor Patrick Paul Walsh, and Dr Lawless responded. The President congratulated Dr Lawless on her lecture and presented her with the Barrington prize and medal.

Second Meeting

The second meeting of the Society was held at 6:00pm on Thursday 5th November 2009 at the Royal Irish Academy. The President, Dr Donal de Buitleir, was in the Chair.

Mr Patrick Foley and Ms Fiona O'Callaghan (Central Statistics Office) delivered their paper titled *Investigating the Public-Private Wage Gap in Ireland using data from the National Employment Survey 2007.* The vote of thanks was proposed by Dr Seamus McGuiness (ESRI) and seconded by Mr Jim O'Leary (NUIM). Contributions from the floor were made by Mr Robert Watt, Professor John Geary, Professor Denis Conniffe, Mr Manus O'Riordan, Mr Noel O'Gorman, Mr Paul Sweeney, Mr Peter Rigney, Mr Michael Terry and Mr Karl Deeter. The President invited the presenters to respond and then brought the meeting to a close, thanking the authors and contributors.

Third Meeting

The third meeting of the Society was held at 6:00pm on Thursday 26th November 2009 at the Royal Irish Academy. The President, Dr Donal de Buitleir, was in the Chair.

The meeting was a Symposium on Resolving Ireland's Fiscal Crisis, with papers read by Mr Colm McCarthy (UCD), Mr Blair Horan (CPSU), Mr David Croughan (IBEC) and Dr Niamh Hardiman (UCD). Contributions from the floor were made by Mr Michael Terry, Dr Don Thornhill, Dr Sean Barrett and Mr Donal O'Brolcháin. The President invited the presenters to respond and then brought the meeting to a close, thanking the authors and contributors.

Fourth Meeting

The fourth meeting of the Society was held at 6:00pm on Thursday 21th January 2010 at the Royal Irish Academy. The President, Dr Donal de Buitleir, was in the Chair.

Dr Patrick Quill (Central Statistics Office) and Mr Paddy Teahon (former Secretary General of the Department of the Taoiseach) delivered a paper titled *Structural Economic Change in Ireland 1957-2006: Statistics, Context and Analysis*. The vote of thanks was proposed by Professor Frank Barry (TCD) and seconded by Mr Kieran Kennedy (formerly of ESRI). Contributions from the floor were made by Dr Padraic McGowan, Mr Bill Keating, Mr Robert Watt and Professor Eamon Henry. The President invited the authors to respond and then brought the meeting to a close, thanking the authors and contributors.

Fifth Meeting

The fifth meeting of the Society was held at 6:00pm on Thursday 11th February 2010 at the Royal Irish Academy. The President, Dr Donal de Buitleir, was in the Chair.

Professor Philip Lane (Trinity College Dublin) delivered a paper titled *A New Fiscal Framework for Ireland*. The vote of thanks was proposed by Professor John Fitz Gerald (ESRI) and seconded by Mr Robert Watt (Department of Finance). Contributions were made by Mr William Scally, Professor Patrick Honohan, Mr Joe Durkan, Mr John Bohan, Mr Michael Terry, Mr Paul Sweeney and Dr Jim Stewart. The President invited the author to respond and then brought the meeting to a close, thanking the author and contributors.

Sixth Meeting

The sixth meeting of the Society was held at 6:00pm on Thursday 25th of March 2010 at the Royal Irish Academy. The President, Dr Donal de Buitleir, was in the Chair.

Dr Julie Byrne (NUI Maynooth) delivered a paper titled *Ireland and the Global Financial Crisis: Growth, Volatility and Financial Development*. The vote of thanks was proposed by Mr Frank Browne (CBFSAI) and seconded by Mr Robert Kelly (CBFSAI). Contributions were made by Mr Noel O'Gorman, Dr Jim Stewart and Mr Thomas Conefrey. The President invited the author to respond and then brought the meeting to a close, thanking the author and contributors.

Seventh Meeting

The seventh meeting of the Society was held at 4:00pm on Wednesday 21st April 2010 at the Northern Ireland Statistics and Research Agency, Castle Street, Belfast. The President, Dr Donal de Buitleir, was in the Chair.

Honorary Secretary Dr Norman Caven welcomed members to Belfast. Dr David Donnelly and Dr Anna Gavin (NI Cancer Registry, Queens University, Belfast) then delivered their paper, *A Review of Cancer Mortality in Northern Ireland*. The vote of thanks was proposed by Dr Eddie Rooney (Public Health Agency) and seconded by all present. Contributions from the floor were made by Ms Michelle Furfy, Mr Sandy Fitzpatrick, Dr John Mallon, Dr David Marshall, Rev John Dunlop, Mr Philip McDonagh and Dr Norman Caven. The President invited the presenters to respond and then brought the meeting to a close, thanking the author and the contributors.

Eighth Meeting

Dr Donal de Buitleir delivered his Presidential Address on the topic *An Exploration of the Nordic Model*. Vice President Aidan Punch was in the chair.

Contributions from the floor were made by Dr Garrett Fitz Gerald, Mr Fergal O'Brolcháin, Prof. Patrick Paul Walsh, Prof. John Fitz Gerald, Mr William Scally, Prof. Frances Ruane, Prof. Eunice McCarthy, Mr Noel O'Gorman and Fr Seán Healy. The speaker responded to the points raised and then Mr Punch brought the meeting to a close, thanking Dr de Buitleir and those who made contributions.

Seán Lyons Honorary Secretary